file:///home/joy/Desktop/Webpage_Local/BasicAlg.html
file:///home/joy/Desktop/Webpage_Local/BasicAlg.html

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Dr. HungChieh Chang

Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
CAM 309-G
(580) 774- 3055
hungchieh.chang@swosu.edu

Quiz/Exam Schedule

Exam
Section(s) Covered
 Date
Final Exam
Section 1-1 to Section 5-6
8:30-10:20 am
Friday, May 4

Help Session: 9-10 am Wednesday,  May 2

Homework Exercises for Basic Algebra

Students are expected to make a seious attempt to compelete every assigned problem. By "a serious attempt", I mean that you carefully read the problem, think through the tools you will need to solve the problem, write up your solution, and whenever possible check and make sure that your solution is correct. If you run into a problem that you can't solve then make sure that you ask someone. You can ask me in the time before  class begins or during office hours, or you can ask a classmate. But make sure you ask someone.
Chapter 1
Introduction to Algebraic Expressions
Due Date
Section 1 (page 10) 1- 93 every multiples of 3 (e.g.  3, 6, 9, etc.)
Thursday, Jan. 19
Section 2 (page 18)
1-85 every other odd (e.g. 1, 5, 9, 13, etc.)
Friday, Jan. 20
Section 3 (page 27)
1-93 every multiples of 3 (e.g.  3, 6, 9, etc.) Tuesday, Jan. 24
Section 4 (page 35)
1-73 every other odd (e.g. 1, 5, 9, 13, etc.) Friday, Jan. 27
Section 5 (page 43)
1-73 odds
Monday, Jan. 30
Section 6 (page 48)
1-125 every other odd
Tuesday, Jan. 31
Section 7 (page 55)
1-61 odds
Thursday, Feb. 2
Section 8 (page 66)
1-57 odds
Monday, Feb. 6
Chapter 2
Equations, Inequalities, and Problem Solving

Section 1 (page 84)
12 - 50 evens
Thursday, Feb. 9
Section 2 (page 90)
8-68 evens
Tuesday, Feb. 14
Section 3 (page 96)
8-48 evens
Thursday, Feb.16
Section 4 (page 104)
34-54 evens
Friday, Feb. 17
Section 5 (page 115)
4-52 multiples of 4 (e.g 4, 8, 12, etc.)
Monday, Feb. 20
Section 6 (page 127)
36-76 evens
Thursday, Feb. 23
Review (page 140)
10-50 (evens), 52-61 (all)
Monday, Feb. 27
Chapter 3
Introduction to Graphing

Section 1 (page 153)
8, 14, 22, 24, 28-34 evens, 66, 68
Tueday, Feb. 28
Section 2 (page 163)
22-40 evens (please use graph paper)
Thursday, March 1
Section 3 (page 171)
26-40 evens, 74, 78
Monday, March 5
Section 4 (page 177)
20-34 evens
Tuesday, March 6
Section 5 (page 188)
12, 18, 22-30 evens, 40, 42, 52
Thursday, March 8
Section 6 (page 200)
46-64 evens
Friday, March 9
Section 7 (page 209)
28-38 evens, 66-72 evens
Tuesday, March 13
Chapter 4
Exponents and Polynomials

Section 1 (page 228)
20-84 every other even (e.g. 20, 24, 28, 32, etc.)
Thursday, March 29
Section 2 (page 234)
28, 38-52 evens
Friday, March 30
Section 3 (page 243)
6-10 evens, 32-42 evens, 62, 64
Monday, April 2
Section 4 (page 251)
18-70 every other even
Tuesday, April 3
Section 5 (page 260)
40-62 evens, 86-92 evens
Thursday, April 5
Section 7 (page 277)
18-36 evens
Friday, April 6
Sectoin 8 (page 284)
6-78 every other even
Tuesday, April 10
Chapter 5
Polynomials and Factoring

Section 1 (page 304)
16-28 evens, 38, 40, 42
Friday, April 13
Section 1 (page 305)
44-62 evens
Monday, April 16
Section 2 (page 311)
8-46 evens
Tuesday, April 17
Section 3 (page 321)
8-26 evens
Thursday, April 19
Section 3 (page 321)
48-66 evens
Friday, April 20
Section 4 (page 328)
66-86 evens
Monday, April 23
Section 5 (page 334)
6-24 evens
Tuesday, April 24
Section 6 (page 341)
22-42 evens
Thursday, April 26
Chapter 6
Rational Exponents and Equations
Section 1 (page 369)

Section 2 (page 374)