Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Dr. HungChieh Chang

Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
CAM 309-G
(580) 774- 3055
hungchieh.chang@swosu.edu

College Algebra


Syllabus: View or print the syllabus.

Quiz/Exam Schedule

Quizzes
  Section(s)  Covered
Date
Quiz 1
1-1 and Handout
Wednesday, Jan 23
Quiz 2
1-4, 1-5
Friday, Feb. 1
Quiz 3
1-6
Monday, Feb. 11
Quiz 4 1-7
Wednesday, Feb. 13
Exam 1 1-1, 1-4, 1-5, 1-6, 1-7 and Handout
Friday, Feb. 15
Quiz 5
2-1
Monday, March 4
Quiz 6 2-2
due 10 am Mon., March 11
Quiz 7
3-1, 3-2
due 10 am Wed., March 13
Quiz 8
3-3
Wednesday, March 13
Exam 2
2-1, 2-2, 3-1, 3-2, 3-3
Friday, March 15
Quiz 9
4-1, 4-2, 4-3
Monday, April 15
Quiz 10
5-1, 5-2
due Friday, April 19
Quiz 11
Quiz 11 Key, Page 1
Quiz 11 Key, Page 2

 6-1, 6-2
Bonus: 6-3
due Wednesday, April 24 
Exam 3
4-1, 4-2, 4-3, 5-1, 5-2, 6-1, 6-2
Bonus: 6-3
Friday, April 26
Final Exam
1-1, 1-4, 1-5, 1-6, 1-7,
2-1, 2-2, 3-1, 3-2, 3-3,
4-1, 4-2, 4-3, 5-1, 5-2, 6-1, 6-2, 6-3
Bonus: 6-4
Monday, May 6, 2013
10:30 am -- 12:20

Homework Exercises

Note: If you have difficulty using WebAssign, then submit a written  homework on paper according to the problems on the textbook.

Chapter 1
Relations and Functions
Due Date
Section 1.1 (P. 14)
20, 21, 22, 23, 24
Friday, Jan. 11
Review (Handout)
(on paper only)
Part I: 9--28 (all);  Part II: 1, 4, 6--22 (all), 25, 26
Wed., Jan. 16
Section 1.4 (p. 63) Part I
7,8,16, 22, 35, 37, 43, 49, 50, 51, 58
Mon., Jan. 28
Section 1.4 (p. 63) Part II (on paper only): 27, 30, 32, 34
Mon., Jan. 28
Section 1.5 (p. 84)
5, 19, 22, 23, 24, 31
Wed., Jan. 30
Section 1.6 (p. 107 ) Part I 17, 21, 23, 26, 29, 42--57 (all)
Wed., Feb. 6
Section 1.6 (p. 107 ) Part II 79--85 (odd)
Fri., Feb. 8
Section 1.7 (p. 140)
29, 30--36 (all), 38--44 (all), 47, 50--53(all)
Wed., Feb. 13
Chapter 2
Linear and Quadratic Functions

Section 2.1 (P. 163) 6, 8-14 (all), 28, 32, 59, 60, 65, 66
Wed., Feb. 27
Section 2.3 (p. 200) Part I (on paper or on WebAssign): 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 21
Part II (on paper): 19, 22
Fri., Mar. 1
Chapter 3 Polynomial Functions
Section 3.1 (P. 246) 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 22, 24, 27
Wed., Mar. 6
Section 3.2 (P.265) Part I 3, 5, 31, 32,33, 37
Fri., Mar. 8
Section 3.2 (P.265) Part II (on paper only): 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 22, 24, 26, 41, 45 Mon., Mar. 11
Section 3.3(P.280) Part I 11, 14, 15, 16, 21, 22
Fri., Mar. 15
Section 3.3(P.280) Part II (on paper only): 1(a)(b), 9(a)(b), 10 (a) (b) Fri., Mar. 15
Chapter 4 Introduction to Rational Functions
Section 4.1 (P. 314) Part a, b, c, d only: 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, 11
Fri., Mar. 29
Section 4.2 (P. 333) 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 14
Fri., April 3
Section 4.3 (Handout)
2, 5, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20
Mon., April 8
Chapter 5 Further Topics in Functions

Section 5.1 (P. 314) Part I (on paper or on WebAssign): 44, 46, 48, 52
Part II (on paper): 1, 5, 9, 13, 16, 23, 56, 58 
Mon., April 15
Section 5.2 (P. 394) (Find Inverse Function Only): 1, 4, 5, 9, 15, 16, 17
Wed., April 17
Chapter 6 Exponential And Logarithmic Functions
Section 6.1 (P. 429) Part I (on paper): 1--15, 58--62 (even)
Part II (on paper or on WebAssign):16-45 (all), 49
Mon., April 22
Section 6.2 (P. 445) 1--13 (odd), 16--26 (even), 34--38 (even)
Wed., April 24
Section 6.3 (P. 456) (Extra Credit:) 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 17, 22, 25, 26, 27
Mon., April 29
Section 6.4 (P. 466) (Extra Credit:) 2, 9, 10, 11, 15, 17, 20
Mon., April 29