file:///home/joy/Desktop/Webpage_Local/Probability.html

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Dr. HungChieh Chang

Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
CAM 309-G
(580) 774- 3055
hungchieh.chang@swosu.edu

Introduction to Probability


Syllabus: Print or view the syllabus.

Quiz/Exam Schedule

Quiz/Exam
Section(s)
Date
Exam 1
Chapter 1
 Thursday, February 14
Exam 2 Chapter 2 Thursday, March 14
Exam 3
Chapter 3
Thursday, April 25
Final Exam
Chapters 1, 2, 3 (In Class)
Take-Home Part
(due Monday, May 6)
10:30 am-- 12:20 pm
Thursday, May 2

Homework Assignments 


Chapter 1

Combinatorial Anylasis

Due Date
Section 1-2
(page 16): 1, 2, 3   and (page 18): 2, 3
Thursday, Jan. 17
Section 1-3
(page 16): 7, 8, 9
Tuesday, Jan. 22
Section 1-4
(page 16): 14--22 (even)  and  (page 18): 6, 9  Tuesday, Jan. 29 
Section 1-5
(page 16): 26, 28, 30  Tuesday, Feb 4
Section 1-6 (page 16): 31
Thursday, Feb. 7
Review
(page 20): 1--12 (all), 16
Thursday, Feb. 7

Chapter 2


Axioms of Probability

Section 2-2 (page 50): 1, 3, 5, 7  and (page 54): 6, 7
Tuesday, Feb. 19
Section 2-4 (page 50): 9, 11, 13  Thursday, Feb. 21 
Section 2-5 (page 50): 15 (b) (d), 17-43 (odd), 47, 49, 52, 56 Thursday, March 7

Chapter 3

Conditional Probability and Indenpence

Section 3-2 (page 102): 1, 5, 7, 9, 12 Thursday, April 4
Section 3-3 (page 102): 17, 19, 20, 23, 26, 28, 30, 33, 36 Tuesday, April 16
Section 3-4 (page 102): 55, 59, 60, 62, 66(a), 70  Thursday, April 18
Section 3-5



Chapter 4

Random Variables











Chapter 5