Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Mary Aspedon, Ph.D.

Professor, Educational Administration
Department of Education
Hibler Education Center 123
(580) 774-3196

Mary Aspedon, Ph.D.
  • Education:
    • Ph.D. in Administration, Curriculum & Instruction, University of Nebraska
    • M.S. in Special Education, University of Kansas
    • B.S. in Elementary Education and Early Childhood, University of Kansas
  • Appointment Date:
    • Southwestern Oklahoma State University, August 2000
  • Professional History:
    • Assistant Superintendent, Ladue School District, St. Louis, MO
    • Associate Superintendent, Francis Howell School District, St. Charles, MO
    • Special Education Coordinator, Lincoln Public Schools, Lincoln, NE
    • Director of Student Services, Kearney Public Schools, Kearney, NE
    • Elementary Principal, Millard Public Schools, Omaha, NE
    • Director, Early Childhood Project, AEA 13, Council Bluffs, IA
    • Director, Office of Exceptional Children, Wyoming Department of Education
    • Special Education Administrator in Wyoming, Nebraska, Iowa
    • Special Education Teacher, Olathe, Kansas
    • Early Childhood Teacher, Lawrence, Kansas and Olathe, Kansas
  • Professional Organizations:
    • Council for Professors of Educational Administration; Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administrators; American Association of School Administrators; Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development; Council for Exceptional Children; Phi Delta Kappa; Kappa Delta Pi
  • Awards and Recognitions:
    2008 Bernhardt Academic Excellence

    Dr. John Hays, Dr. Williams Bernhardt, Dr. Mary Aspedon, Theta Juan Bernhardt, and Valerie Bernhardt Lorenz
    Bernhardt family members and SWOSU President John Hays (left) congratulate Dr. Mary Aspedon (middle) for winning the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award at SWOSU. Bernhardt family members are (second from left) Dr. William and Theta Juan Bernhardt and Valerie Bernhardt Lorenz.
    • SWOSU Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award – 2008 [News Release]
    • Special Sponsor Recognition for Growth in Chapter Members, Kappa Delta Pi International, January 2004 and January 2005
    • Special Recognition for Service & Dedication, Kappa Delta Pi International, January 2005
    • Who’s Who of American Women in Education, 2003-2008
    • Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers, 2003-2008
    • Selected as Honorary Faculty Member by student members of Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society, SWOSU, 2002
    • Appointed to the Presidential Inauguration Committee by Dr. John Hays, September 2001
    • Selected as Institutional Representative for the School of Education to the American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education, September 2001
    • Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development International (ASCD) – Recognition of Service, September 1, 2001
    • State President, Missouri ASCD, 2000
    • Special Recognition Doctoral Dissertation, University of Nebraska, 1990
    • Excellence in Leadership Award, Iowa Department of Education, 1980
    • Outstanding Graduate Student, University of Kansas, 1971
    • Honor’s Master of Education Thesis, 1971
    • Kansas Outstanding Educator of the Year, 1970
    • Outstanding Educator of the Year, Lawrence Public Schools, 1970
    • Graduated Cum Laude, University of Kansas, 1963
  • Research:
    • Oklahoma Public School Principals’ Attitudes toward Special Education Issues
    • Nebraska Public School principals’ Attitudes toward Special Education Issues
    • Teachers’ Knowledge of Factors Affecting Student Achievement
Office Hours: Courses:
Course No. Course Title
EDUC 5113
Introduction to Research
EDAD 5233
Fundamentals of Curriculum Planning
EDAD 5413
Internship in Educational Administration
EDAD 5613
Educational Administration Theory
EDAD 5813
Supervision of Instruction
EDAD 5853
School Community Relations